Stellenbosch University Social, Behavioural and Education Research Ethics Committee (REC: SBE): Member list (2024)

REC members	Faculty	Department
Prof Len Hansen (Co-	Theology	Systematic Theology
Chairperson)		
Prof Ilana Van Wyk (Co-	Arts and Social Science	Sociology and Social
Chairperson)		Anthropology
Dr Bronwyne Coetzee	Arts and Social Science	Psychology
Dr Guy Lamb	Arts and Social Science	Political Science
Dr Ilze Slabbert	Arts and Social Science	Social Work
Mr Bo Lyu	Arts and Social Science	Modern Foreign Languages
Mr Phila Msimang	Arts and Social Science	Philosophy
Prof Colette Schulz-	Arts and Social Science	Political Science
Herzenberg		
Prof Nelius Boshoff	Arts and Social Sciences	CREST
Dr Justin Pearce	Arts and Social Sciences	History
Dr George Nel	Economics and Management Science	School of Accountancy
Prof Nicky Terblanche	Economics and Management Science	Stellenbosch Business School
Mr Simon Louw	Economics and Management Science	Statistics and Actuarial Science
Dr Nyasha Magadzire	Economics and Management	Centre for Sustainable
	Sciences	Transitions
Dr Jaco Franken	Economics and Management Sciences	Graduate School
Mr Juan Ontong	Economics and Management Sciences	School of Accountancy
Dr Debra Shepherd	Economics and Management Sciences	Economics
Dr Lieschen Venter	Economics and Management Sciences	Logistics
Prof Melanie Moen	Education	Educational Psychology
Dr Elzahn Rinquest	Education	Education Policy Studies
Dr Euodia Vermeulen (Postdoc)	Engineering	
Ms Katlego Mthelebofu	Law	Mercantile Law
Dr Mhaka Khoza	Military Science	Educational Technology
Dr Sanjeev Rambharose	Science	Physiological Science
Prof Peter White	Theology	
Dr MccPowell Fombang	Non-affiliated	Ad-hoc expert reviewer
Dr Tando Maduna	Non-affiliated	Ad-hoc expert reviewer
Mrs Carmelita Okkers	Non-affiliated	Community member
Ms Tessa Malan	Science	Student representative
Ms Lulama Traub	AgriSciences	Agricultural Economics
REC: SBE support team	Division	Role
Mrs Clarissa Robertson	Division for Research	REC Manager

National Health Research Ethics Council (NHREC) registration number: REC-050411-032.

	Development	
Mr Aden Williams	Division for Research	REC Officer
	Development	
Mrs Cassey Toi	Division for Research	REC administrative assistant
	Development	
Ex-officio members	Division	Role
Mrs Melandie Van Heerden	Division for Information Policy	
	and Governance	
Mr Ollof Esterhuysen	Division for Research	
	Development (Research	
	Contracts)	
Mr Ayakha Nyangeni	Division for Research	
	Development (Research	
	Contracts)	